UNT Health Science Center logo

Richard S. Kurz, Ph.D.
School of Public Health

UNTHSC SPH Richard Kurz

Dr. Richard S. Kurz is Dean of the School of Public Health and also serves as Professor of Health Management and Policy. Dr. Kurz has been with UNT Health Science Center since 2007.

For nearly 30 years prior to joining UNT Health Science Center, Dr. Kurz served as Dean of the Saint Louis University School of Public Health and Chair of the Department of Health Management and Policy, in addition to other administrative roles.

Dr. Kurz received his B.S. degree in sociology from Washington and Lee University, Lexington, Virginia, and his Ph.D. in sociology from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Dr. Kurz is Chair of the National Board of Public Health Examiners and is a past Chairman of the Board of the Association of University Programs in Health Administration, the international consortium of accredited health administration programs. He currently serves on the Executive Committee of the Association of Schools and Programs of Public Health. He was a Commissioner for the Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Management Education  for six years and has been a member of the American College of Healthcare Executives and American Public Health Association for more than 30 years.  He is active in AcademyHealth and the Academy of Management, and is a past editor of the Journal of Healthcare Management, the international publication for the Foundation of the American College of Healthcare Executives. 

Dr. Kurz has served on advisory boards and task forces for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Veterans Administration and the Institute of Medicine. He has consulted for hospitals, state health departments and foundations. 

He serves on the Texas Department of State Health Services (TDSHS) Public Health Funding and Policy Committee and is a member of the Public Health Accreditation Council of Texas. He is a Fellow of the Texas Public Health Association (TPHA) and received TPHA’s President’s Award in 2013.

Currently, he serves as Principal Investigator on a TDSHS- funded contract to assess, support and increase the readiness of Texas’ local health departments for national accreditation, a new standard for the industry.

For the last two years, he has served as Chair of the Expert Panel and Steering Committee for the TDSHS Healthy Texas Babies Initiative to reduce infant mortality.  His efforts to decrease infant mortality rates led to national grant funding to develop the Healthy Moms - Healthy Babies - Healthy Community (H3) initiative in Tarrant County and involvement in the national Partnership to Eliminate Disparities in Infant Mortality Action Learning Collaborative.

He is Secretary of the Healthy Tarrant County Collaborative, serves on the Board of YMCA of Metropolitan Fort Worth and is a member of the United Way of Tarrant County Health Council and Fort Worth Rotary. He has served as Chair of the Fort Worth Hispanic Wellness Coalition and has been involved with the organization’s annual Hispanic Wellness Fair since 2008.

This page last updated Oct 28, 2013
bottom frame