UNTHSC Logo UNT Health Science Center Catalog 2010 - 2011

A Message from the President

Scott Ransom, DO, PresidentAt the University of North Texas Health Science Center, we are in our 40th year of preparing students for careers in medicine and health sciences.

Starting with 18 students and one school (the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine) in 1970, we now have grown into one of the nation's most distinguished graduate academic institutions, with more than 1,600 students enrolled in one of our four schools:

  • Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine
  • Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
  • School of Public Health
  • School of Health Professions

We continue to attract outstanding faculty members who are widely recognized as experts in their fields, and who continue to expand our body of knowledge with probing and innovative research. Our research funding has grown to over $40 million annually, most of it provided by the National Institutes of Health, considered the gold standard when judging the quality of biomedical research.

Our students find themselves working side-by-side with these professionals as they pursue careers as osteopathic physicians, scientists, physician assistants, public health professionals, healthcare administrators, and physical therapists. We offer seven graduate degree programs, with two more nearly ready to begin.

With the recent addition of a Medical Education and Training Building containing 112,000 square feet of space, our 33-acre campus in the heart of Fort Worth's Cultural District now has over 1.2 million square feet of buildings.

At our core, though, we know we exist for one reason: to improve the quality of life for people and communities throughout Texas and beyond. Because of this, we focus on helping students succeed, as they must be our primary champions of this mission.

Our future is bright, and we are committed to ensuring our students have bright futures as well. We invite you to join our momentum in creating a healthier future for us all.

Scott B. Ransom, DO, MBA, MPH
University of North Texas Health Science Center

This page last modified June 10, 2010