February 02, 2007

In celebration of National Thank Your Mentor Day, Jan. 25, two Health Science Center family members were among those recognized for their service with TEAM FWISD, a Fort Worth school-based mentoring program, in a full page ad in the Star-Telegram: Diane Bradley of purchasing and Meghan Schott, TCOM Class of 2010.

Fifteen UNT Health physicians were chosen by their peers as “Texas Super Docs” for the December 2006 issue of Texas Monthly. More than 40,000 medical professionals were asked to nominate one or more doctors, other than themselves, for the list, based on the question, “If you needed medical care, which doctor would you choose?” Listed in the magazine were Ralph Anderson, MD, Kathleen Crowley, MD, and Douglas Tatum, MD, obstetrics/gynecology; Sam Buchanan, DO, TCOM ’75, general surgery; John Fling, MD, pediatrics; David Lichtman, MD, orthopedic surgery; Alan Podawiltz, DO, psychiatry; Bernard Rubin, DO, internal medicine; Frederick Schaller, DO, cardiology; Russell Wagner, MD, orthopedic surgery; Stephen Weis, DO, internal medicine; and Martin Weiss, DO, cardiology. UNT Health doctors chosen for the list but not appearing in the publication include David Orr, DO, TCOM ’94, neurology; Craig Spellman, PhD, DO, TCOM ’91, internal medicine; and Stephen Urban, DO, family medicine. Note to readers: The magazine notified the Health Science Center only if a faculty physician made the list. If you know of a TCOM graduate not on faculty who was recognized in the magazine, please e-mail his or her name and specialty to news@hsc.unt.edu.

Scott Emerson, TCOM Class of 2007, is the first TCOM student to be published in the Proceeds of the National Academy of Sciences. “Calorie restriction up-regulates the plasma membrane redox system in brain cells and suppresses oxidative stress during aging,” which appeared in the Dec. 26, 2006, issue, reflects Emerson’s work in the National Institutes of Health’s laboratories of neurosciences and experimental gerontology in 2005. He was second author on the article.

John Mills, DO, associate professor of family medicine, was inducted into the Semper Fidelis Society for his service in the U.S. Marine Corps and received a certificate from the National Museum of the Marine Corps and Heritage Center that stated Dr. Mills’ “continued commitment to building a lasting testimony to the honor and courage of Marines is forever appreciated.” Dr. Mills said it was a privilege to provide aviation support to the 3rd Recon Battalion USMC while in Vietnam.

Thomas Moorman, EdD, associate dean of student affairs, is the new president of the Texas Association of College and University Student Personnel Administrators.

Lt. Randy Rogers of Campus Police was awarded his Master Peace Officer license by the Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Officers Standards and Education after completing more than 4,000 hours of law enforcement training.

Daniel W. Saylak, DO, TCOM ’83, a family and emergency medicine physician in Bryan, Texas, was elected president of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association. Among his goals during his presidency is to influence legislation that will improve access to healthcare throughout rural Texas.

Martin Thornton, DO, TCOM ’82, is a founding member of the new American Board of Disaster Medicine, instituted by the American Board of Physician Specialties. The founding of the board marks the first time in the history of medicine that physicians may earn board certification in disaster medicine. The first certification exam is expected to be administered early in 2007.

Al Yurvati, DO, TCOM ’86, chair of surgery, is vice chair of the American Osteopathic Board of Surgery, and was recently elected to the Board of Governors of the American College of Osteopathic Surgeons to represent the Cardiothoracic/Vascular Division. This is the first time that a physician has served on both boards simultaneously.

For the fourth consecutive year, T. Eugene Zachary, DO, emeritus professor of family medicine, delivered the keynote address for the White Coat Ceremony at the Edward Via Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine in Blacksburg in December. Dr. Zachary serves on the board of directors for the college. UNT HSC Logo

Submit notable achievements to news@hsc.unt.edu.

Return to the top [click here]

Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 806 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699