February 02, 2007
  Top Story

ocal Car Enthusiasts
   Among the TCOM alumni whom Milus Davis, TCOM Class of 2010,
   was asked to call during January’s phone-a-thon in support of the new
   Institute for Musculoskeletal Medicine were members of the TCOM Class
   of 1987, which included his father, Michael Davis, DO. We assume his dad
   didn’t turn him down.

Campaign for musculoskeletal medicine kicks off with $1.5 million grant, successful student phone-a-thon and alumni support

President Ransom’s plan to bolster the Health Science Center’s research and clinical programs in physical medicine and osteopathic manipulative medicine kicked off in high gear last month with a $1.5 million grant and a student phone campaign that raised an unprecedented number of gift pledges from alumni to help develop an Institute for Musculoskeletal Medicine on the fourth floor of the Center for BioHealth.

The Osteopathic Heritage Foundation, which already funds several programs at the Health Science Center and in the national Osteopathic Research Center that is housed on campus, designated a $1.5 million grant to construct the new institute’s musculoskeletal research laboratory and to acquire a metabolic and visual motion analysis system. President Ransom has allocated $1 million in institutional funds toward general construction costs. The total amount needed to complete the 7,000-square-foot facility is estimated at $5 million.

Over the course of five nights in January, 75 first- and second-year medical students called TCOM alumni to ask them to contribute to the cause. By the last night of the phone-a-thon, enthusiasm among the students for the opportunity to talk to alumni person-to-person was running high, and more volunteers showed up than expected. Together, the volunteers garnered almost $52,000 in alumni pledges, which earned another $24,000 in matching funds from a foundation managed by JP Morgan/Chase Bank, for a grand total of $76,376.

The students were coached by Institutional Advancement staff and Russell Gamber, DO, MPH, professor of manipulative medicine; Hollis King, DO, PhD, TCOM ’83, associate executive director of the Osteopathic Research Center; and Mark Baker, DO, TCOM ’75, a diagnostic radiologist and longtime member of the UNTHSC Foundation board of directors.

Future student phon-a-thons will include appeals to both DO and PA alumni as well as graduates of our School of Public Health and Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.

The three physicians who helped with the January phone-a-thon are members of the campaign’s steering committee, which is chaired by Robert DeLuca, DO, TCOM ’84, a family practitioner in Eastland, Texas, who is also the current president of the TCOM Alumni Association. Others on the steering committee are: Wayne English, DO, a former TCOM faculty member and past president of the American Academy of Osteopathy who has a physical medicine and rehabilitation practice in Burleson; Paul Saenz, DO, TCOM ’86, a sports medicine specialist who is also the team physician for the San Antonio Spurs; and UNTHSC faculty members David Litchman, MD, chair of Orthopedics, and Mike Smith, PhD, chair of Integrative Physiology.

Phone-a-thon volunteers from the TCOM Class of 2009 were Amber Thomas, Brian Weylie, Corey Daniels, Cristy Liu, Dustin DeMoss, Eric South, Dina Elmazi, Garrett Wolter, Hunaid Gurji, Jamie Huff, Jamie King, Jeremiah Raney, Jon Gonzalez, Kate LeBarron, Kathy Smith, Lori Stuart, Marcus Sims, Michael Waggoner, Richard Gray, Sara Holcombe, Sharon Liu and Stephanie Hiraki. Volunteers from the TCOM Class of 2010 were A.J. Jain, Allison Davidson, Allison Heinen, Andrew Timboe, April Enard, Audry Sato, Bradley Stovall, Brian Hodges, Casey Stell, Christine Doan, Cindy Eckersley, David Lim, Debbie Villarreal Smith, Eberenne Igbokwe, Elizabeth Wang, Erika LeBaron, Erika McGrady, Heather Hamilton, Hetal Gashia, Jackie Garda, Jay Shah, Jean Hsu, Jeffrey Murillo, Jeffrey Fletcher, Jennifer Ozan, Jeremy Clark, Jessica Hodge, Jessica Toler, John Colston, Jonathan Hopkins, Josh Reed, Kellee Randle, Laura Arnold, Meghan Schott, Melissa Blancas, Michael Bubis, Milus Davis, Monica Juarez, Monica Patel, Parastoo Askari, Paul Tung, Rachel Clark, Ravi Chau Han, Samip Sheth, Sara Cale, Shayne Tegeler, Sheeba Varughese, Sheena Ellis, Sheva Khorrami, Stephanie Fuller, Tam Cung, Timothy Head and Wisdeen Wu. UNT HSC Logo  

Return to the top [click here]

Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 806 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699