February 16, 2007

Our PA students took first and third places at the Texas Academy of Physician Assistants Challenge Bowl Championship at the annual statewide PA conference in Dallas Feb. 9-11. Fourteen teams from across the state, a record number, competed in the Jeopardy game show-style competition that tested the students on their knowledge of basic science and clinical subjects. It was the first time that all seven of the PA programs in Texas participated, and the first time our PA students earned top honors. Bringing home the gold were the 3 Amigos Team of Matt Boutte, PA2009; Michael Isenberg, PA2009; and Russell Smith, PA2008. Bronze winners were the DNR Team of PA2009 students Gabriel Petty, Gabriel Schlebach and Laura Draper.

A number of TCOM alumni and faculty members have earned a prestigious seat in the American Osteopathic Association’s Mentor Hall of Fame. Inducted in 2006 were: Sam Buchanan, DO, TCOM ’75, associate professor of surgery; Steve Buchanan, DO, TCOM ’82, associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology; Sheryl Bushman, DO, TCOM ’84; and John Licciardone, DO, MPH, professor of osteopathic manipulative medicine. Alumni and faculty who were inducted in 2004 and 2005 include: Ira Azneer, DO, TCOM ’82; Bryan Beck, DO, TCOM ’80; Cyril Blavo, DO, MPH, TCOM ’84; William Thomas Crow, DO, TCOM ’87; James DiRenna Sr., DO, TCOM ’81; Allen Jacobs, DO, PhD, TCOM ’83; Janice Knebl, DO, MBA, chief of geriatrics; Irvine Prather, DO, associate professor of surgery; Phillip Saperstein, DO, professor of family medicine; and T. Eugene Zachary, DO, emeritus professor of family medicine.UNT HSC Logo

Submit notable achievements to news@hsc.unt.edu.


Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 806 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699