May 18, 2007
  2007 Student Awards

TCOM Dean Marc Hahn, Marvin Moul and TCOM Alumni Association President
Dr. Robert DeLuca

TCOM Dean Marc Hahn, Matt Walton,
Dr. Robbye Richards and Michael Stratton


TCOM awards

And the winner is ...

The Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine held its awards banquet on May 16 at the Fort Worth Club to honor our future doctors and some of the people who helped them along the way.


This year’s Sigma Sigma Phi Outstanding Senior Award went to Marvin Moul.  Marvin is president of his class and a Health Professions Scholarship recipient. The TCOM Alumni Association sponsored a $1,500 cash award for the Sigma Sigma Phi Award winner… a first for this award. After graduation, Marvin will begin his residency at Brooke Army Medical Center in San Antonio. The Sigma Sigma Phi award is presented each year to the graduating senior that best exemplifies the ideals and values of the osteopathic profession.

Matt Walton was selected by his fellow students to receive this year’s Arrowsmith Award. The award, currently funded by alumni who are previous recipients of the Arrowsmith Award, is given each year to a student who has overcome obstacles to earn his or her DO degree. Matt and his wife lost a child during his second year of medical school. Matt’s friend and classmate, Michael Stratton, presented the award.

In addition to the student awards, the Speculum yearbook was dedicated to Drs. Stephen Putthoff, David Orr and Craig Spellman, who will be leaving the Health Science Center faculty in the coming weeks.


2007 Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine Awards

Christie Frederick - Donna Jones Moritsugu Award
Dr. Stephen Putthoff, Dr. David Orr and Dr. Craig Spellman - Speculum Dedication
Dr. Sam Buchanan - M.L. Coleman, D.O., Award for Clinical Faculty
Danielle Burkett - Academic Performance (Third in class)
Laponna Irvine-Moore - Academic Achievement (Second in class)
James Meek - Academic Excellence (First in class)
Marvin Moul - Sigma Sigma Phi Outstanding Senior
Matt Walton – Arrowsmith Award
Krystal Batchelor - Leo Benavides Memorial Award
Laponna Irvine-Moore - President’s Award
Erol “Marty” Knott - Chancellor’s Award
Danielle Burkett - President's Scholar Award
Angela Edwards
- President's Scholar Award
Laponna Irvine-Moore
- President's Scholar Award
James Meeks
- President's Scholar Award
Kelly Vopat Gilliland
- President's Scholar Award
Amber Phillips Ervin
- President's Scholar Award
Laponna Irvine-Moore - Robert G. Haman, D.O., Memorial Award
Sarah Meredith - Larry L. Bunnell, D.O., Award
Noelle Lee - T. Robert Sharp Award 
Shane Taylor - Excellence in Emergency Medicine Clinical Rotation
Amanda Garcia - Excellence in Sports Medicine Clinical Rotation and Activity in Sports Medicine Club
Danielle Burkett - Excellence in Academic Ob/Gyn
Noelle Lee - Excellence in Clinical Ob/Gyn
Maneesh Kumar - Excellence in Pediatrics
Matt Thompson - Quest Labs Excellence in Pathology
Paul Schneider - Excellence in Psychiatry
James Meek - Excellence in Surgery


Academic Achievement, Rural Family Medicine Track

Matthew Blackburn, Lieu Chau, Glena Davis, Melissa Downs, Didi Ebert, Elizabeth George, Matthew Jones, Jennifer Hendrix, Christine Lam, Damien Kinzler, Paula Lansford-Seabaugh,  Melissa Poole, Linda Sullivan, Gabriel Tarango, Matthew Walton UNT HSC Logo  

Return to the Top

Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 806 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699