November 16, 2007

Dr. Anthony W. DeLorenzo, TCOM Class of 1992
…was inaugurated as president of the Illinois Osteopathic Medical Society. Dr. DeLorenzo is associate professor of clinical medicine at Midwestern University's Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine in Dowers Grove, Ill.

Brian Tulbert, TCOM Class of 2008
… received a Proctor and Gamble COMLEX PE Scholars Grant for 2007. The grants are awarded annually to 3rd- and 4th- year osteopathic medical students to help defray the cost of taking COMLEX-USA level 2-PE exams.

The Texas Public Health Training Center at the UNT Helth Science Center
… was certified as a Community Health Worker Training Site by the Texas Department of State Health Services Cardiovascular Health and Wellness Program. The Training Center will provide training and continuing education for community health workers. Go to the Texas Public Health Training Center’s web site to learn more.

Dr. Ava C. (Alter) Stanczak, TCOM Class of 1983 and chair of pediatrics at the Edward Via Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine in Blacksburg
… was named 2007 George W. Northup, DO, Educator of the Year by the Student Osteopathic Medical Association at their fall convention in San Diego in September. The award is given to an osteopathic educator who demonstrates commitment to the education and overall well-being of his or her students.

"Texas Super Docs"
... Twelve UNT Health physicians were chosen as “Texas Super Docs” for the December 2007 edition of Texas Monthly. More than 40,000 medical professionals across Texas were asked to nominate doctors other than themselves, based on the question: “If you needed medical care, which doctor would you choose?”

UNT Health physicians named as “Texas Super Docs”:

John Fling, MD

Fred “Rick” Schaller, DO
Martin Weiss, DO

Ralph Anderson, MD
Kathleen Crowley, MD

Alan Podawiltz, DO


Internal Medicine
Bernard Rubin, DO
Stephen Weis, DO

General Surgery

Sam Buchanan, DO, TCOM ’75

Orthopedic Surgery
David Lichtman, MD
Russell Wagner, MD

Trauma Reconstruction
Arvind Nana, MD




Submit notable achievements to

Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 806 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699