March 7, 2008

Steve Jacob, health policy and management student in the School of Public Health
… was awarded the Public Health Award for Media Excellence by the Texas Public Health Association. His award winning article, “Living Large in Texas,” appeared in the Fort Worth Star-Telegram and focused on obesity in Texas and the United States. In addition to being a student, Jacob is publisher of the Star-Telegram/ Northeast.

TCOM Class of 2010
… presented a check for $3,548, raised at last year’s DO Dash, to the Colon Cancer Screening and Awareness Program.  The money will be used to raise awareness of colon cancer and help patients at the PCC get colon cancer screenings.

Dr. John Licciardone, executive director of the Osteopathic Research Center, and
Dr. Hollis King, associate executive director of the Osteopathic Research Center
… were featured in the latest issue of “The Osteopath” magazine (the U.K. equivalent of “The D.O.”) The journal covers the Advancing Osteopathy 2008 Conference and the General Osteopathic Council meeting in London where both Drs. Licciardone and King met with Prince Charles of Wales. The article is available on the magazine’s Web site.

TCOM student volunteers and the Office of Institutional Advancement
… raised a total of $24,000 in gifts and pledges for the Physical Medicine Institute and student scholarships during this year’s Phone-a-Thon campaign. Students made over 1,900 calls and received 64 alumni donations over the three-week campaign.

TCOM student volunteers:

Andrew Posey
Michelle Keown
Hetal Gadhia
Diane Havalda
Heeten Masters
Christine Doan
M Patel
Daniel Wimmer
Jessica Toler
Sheva Khorrami
Jennifer Ozan
John Colston
Steven Ratcliff
Amanda Moody
Wisdeen Wu

Zehra Hussain
Tho Luong
John Mullins
Janice Nhan
Meghan Schott
Esther Han
Heather Radtke
Jennifer Thompson
Amanda Hadley
Lauren Shepard
Samip Sheth
Jessica Tsai
Jose Lozano
Faiza Khan

Faculty, staff and alumni who helped with the campaign:

Krista Gordon
Denise Armstrong
Michelle West
Keith Overstreet
Gary Grant
Angie Owen
Debbie Murray
Amy Baker
Sue Haskins-Bulgin
Dona Smith
Juana Castillo
Terry Burnett
Jim Trammell

Rob Spurgeon
Rynn Ziller
Dr. Scott Ransom
Dr. Marc Hahn
Dr. Bruce Dubin
Dr. Russell Gamber
Dr. Hollis King
Dr. Damon Schranz
Dr. Shrawan Kumar
Dr. Wayne English
Dr. Steve Bander
Dr. Michael Smith


Submit notable achievements to

Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 806 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699