July 18, 2008


Dennis Shingleton, assistant dean for the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine
… has been selected to chair the committee for Let’s Talk Fort Worth – a citywide conversation to generate ideas to help shape the city’s future for the next 20 years. Let’s Talk Fort Worth is scheduled for Thursday, Sept. 25, at the Will Rogers Memorial Center auditorium. Shingleton also serves on the Fort Worth City Plan Commission.

Dr. Richard Kurz, dean of the School of Public Health
… was quoted in an article on the importance of faculty research in the June/July 2008 issue of The Nation’s Health, the official newspaper of the American Public Health Association.

Dr. Janice Knebl, chief of the Division of Geriatrics
… was featured in Digest 2008, Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine’s (PCOM) alumni magazine. Dr. Knebl was interviewed for a feature on women in medicine.  She graduated from PCOM in 1982.

Dr. Al Yurvati, professor and chair of Surgery (TCOM '86)
… won the Lonestar State Natural Bodybuilding Championship in the grand masters division (50-60) for the second year in a row.

Dr. Bob Mallet, associate professor of Integrative Physiology
… was appointed to a three-year term as associate editor for Physiology for the international journal Experimental Biology and Medicine beginning in July. Dr. Mallet replaces Dr. Jim Caffrey, professor of Integrative Physiology, who completed two terms in the post.

TCOM faculty and alumni were honored at the joint Texas Osteopathic Medical Association (TOMA) and Texas Society of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians (TXACOFP) convention in June:

Dr. Marc B. Hahn, TCOM dean
… received TOMA's Meritorious Service Award, which recognizes outstanding accomplishments in scientific, philanthropic or other fields of public service to the profession.

Dr. Brooks M. Blake (TCOM ’99)
…received the New Physician of the Year Award. Dr. Blake, an osteopathic manipulative medicine specialist in Marble Falls, was honored for outstanding community service. He was recognized for donating free tattoo removal services for youth turning away from gang-related activities.

Dr. T. Eugene Zachary, emeritus professor in family medicine
…received the T. Robert Sharp Meritorious Service Award from the TXACOFP at its recent convention. This award is given for outstanding service to community, profession and the TXACOFP.

TCOM faculty and alumni were elected to TOMA offices for 2008-2009 at the convention:

Dr. Monte E. Troutman, chief of the Division of Gastroenterology

Vice President
Dr. Elizabeth A. Palmarozzi, chair of the Department of Family Medicine (TCOM ’84) 

House of Delegates
Dr. Duane Selman, family and emergency medicine physician in Arlington (TCOM ’87)
Dr. Ray L. Morrison, general surgeon in Crockett (TCOM ’86)

Board of Trustees
Dr. Audrey R. Jones, family physician in Alamo (TCOM ’88)



Submit notable achievements to news@hsc.unt.edu.

UNTHSC Logo Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 834 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699