August 01, 2008


Dr. Kathleen Forbes, executive vice president for Clinical Affairs and Business Development and UNT Health president
… will participate in the 6th World Congress Leadership Summit on Healthcare Quality on Aug. 5 in Boston. Dr. Forbes is one of 400 health care industry leaders at the summit, which will focus on bridging the gap between payment and quality health care. Her presentation, titled "Using Balanced Scorecards to Create a Strategy-Focused, Performance-Enhanced, Quality-Driven Culture,” will highlight best practices in these areas.

Dr. Travis Motley, assistant professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
… was named Young Practitioner of the Year by the Texas Podiatric Medical Association (TPMA). Dr. Motley was selected for his contributions to the profession, to community service and to the TPMA.

Dr. John Licciardone, professor and executive director of the Osteopathic Research Center
… was appointed to the American Osteopathic Association’s (AOA) Council on Research for a three-year term. The council provides guidance and oversight for the research development activities of the AOA.

Hank Lemke, director and assistant professor of Physician Assistant (PA) Studies
… was named a Distinguished Fellow of the American Academy of Physician Assistants.  Distinguished fellows are selected based on their service to the PA profession, their commitment to advancing health care for all people, and their exemplary personal and professional development.

Dr. Besim Hoxha, research assistant professor of Surgery
… visited Kosovo in June with U.S. medical officials to assess medical facilities nine years after the Kosovo war. He met with Kosovo’s leaders, including the prime minister, minister of Health and Education, and other education officials. Dr. Hoxha also was interviewed on Kosovo TV about his research on trauma care and his role at the Health Science Center.

Dr. Travis Bias (TCOM ’08)
… was featured in the Texas Medical Association’s (TMA) Summer 2008 Grand Rounds newsletter as TMA Medical Student Section’s (MSS) Student of the Year.  He was honored at TMA’s meeting in San Antonio in May.  The Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine's was also recognized by TMA MSS as Chapter of the Year.

The Winners
The winning foresome

Members of the Dauphin family
The Dauphin Family

Dr. Sonny Singh, associate professor of Pharmacology and Neuroscience,
… along with colleagues, friends and supporters, raised $3,511 at “The Sonny Singh Open” for the Rachel Dauphin Scholarship Fund. The 5th annual golf tournament was held June 7 at Whitestone Golf Course in Benbrook. Forty-four participants hit the links, and, for the second year in a row, Lisa Smith, outreach librarian; Dan Burgard, senior director of public services at the Lewis Library; Dr. Thomas Fairchild, vice president of Strategy and Measurement; and Tara Dubose, took first place. The scholarship honors Rachel Dauphin, a GSBS student who died of cancer in 2005. Each year the scholarship is awarded to a GSBS student who exudes Rachel’s enthusiasm, volunteerism and academic ability. 




Submit notable achievements to

UNTHSC Logo Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 834 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699