October 17, 2008


Texas OPTI (Osteopathic Postdoctoral Training Institutions) received Blue Ribbon OPTI recognition from the American Osteopathic Association.  The program “met with excellence” all four qualifying standards for the recognition.  Texas OPTI at the Health Science Center is an educational consortium committed to the advancement of osteopathic postdoctoral training.

Shrawan Kumar, PhD, professor and co-director of the Physical Medicine Institute, was named associate editor of PM&R, the new official journal of the American Academy of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation.

Miriam Garcia, TCOM ’11, was selected to receive the Sherry R. Arnstein Minority Student Scholarship for 2008 from the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM).  The scholarship, named for former AACOM Executive Director Sherry R. Arnstein, recognizes underrepresented minority students at AACOM’s member colleges of osteopathic medicine.

UNT Health Science Center and UNT Health staffers raised breast cancer awareness at the Frogs for the Cure event during TCU’s football game on Oct. 16 at Amon G. Carter Stadium. Randy Sachs, clinical marketing manager; Jean Tips, vice president of marketing and communications; Chris Kalish, chief transformation officer for UNT Health; and Amy Buresh, assistant marketing manager, handed out the famous pink UNT Health and UNTHSC weepuls to game attendees. Both the UNT Health and UNT Health Science Center logos were displayed on the score board during the game, and Tips was featured in an interview highlighting the Health Science Center on 103.3 FM ESPN radio.UNTHSC logo


Submit notable achievements to news@hsc.unt.edu.

UNTHSC Logo Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 834 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699