February 6, 2009


Andrew Wade TACUPA Award winner

Andrew Wade, public service officer, was chosen by a committee of Texas Association of College and University Police Administrators (TACUPA) members to receive the Frank I. Cornwall Memorial Scholarship and the TACUPA General Scholarship. Officer Wade received these awards at the 2008 TACUPA Conference Banquet in Houston in December.

Thomas Yorio, PhD, provost and executive vice president for Academic Affairs, was named to the inaugural class of Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO) fellows. ARVO’s mission is to facilitate the advancement of vision research and the prevention and cure of disorders of the visual system worldwide. Dr. Yorio, whose research is focused on visual sciences, was named a fellow at ARVO’s highest level. The Health Science Center is home to the North Texas Eye Research Institute.

A. Scott Winter, MD, associate professor and director of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health, earned the Irma Bland Award for Excellence in Teaching Residents from the American Psychiatric Association (APA). The award is given annually to APA members who have made outstanding and sustaining contributions to resident education in psychiatry.

Joyce Hood, MPH (SPH ’07), RN, COHN-S, was named a Healthcare Hero by the Fort Worth Business Press. Hood, director of occupational health services at Cook Children’s Health Care System, is pursuing her Doctor of Public Health at UNTHSC.  Each year the Business Press awards Healthcare Heroes for excellence in the medical community.

Raheela Hafeez, MD, and Nusrath Habiba, MD, both assistant professors of pediatrics, recently passed examinations to become certified by the American Board of Pediatrics.

Andy Crim, executive director of Professional and Continuing Education, was recently appointed by Governor Rick Perry as a member of the Texas Council for Developmental Disabilities. The Council is a 27-member board dedicated to ensuring that all Texas with developmental disabilities have the opportunity to be independent, productive and valued members of their communities.

30 year recipients 35 year recipients
30 year recipients 35 year recipients

UNTHSC faculty and staff members with 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 years of service at the Health Science Center were honored on Jan. 29. UNTHSC logo

5 Years
Denise B. Armstrong
Catherine L. Boney
Terry Burnett
Amy L. Chambers
Donna S. Christian
Heather Ann Cline, MPA
Susan Courtney Conroy, DO
Lee A. Cunningham
Ana Shella Dalton
Min Ding
Bruce D.Dubin, JD, DO
Barbara T. Frankovich
Suzanne D. Gonzalez, PhD
Christina B.Hay
Joseph Helal, MS, RPh
Scott Joseph Herbst
Kathleen L. Holzaepfel, LCSW-G, CMC
Katy Lee Kemp, M.Ed
Zeida Rojas Kon, MPH
Jill E. Kurchner, MS
Edward M. Langston
Meagan Lindsay
Tina K. Machu, PhD
Larry Darnell Mackey Jr., RALAT
Teresa Madera, CPMSM
Michael D. McLane
Everett S. Nixon, PhD
Eswar Shankar, PhD
Charlesetta T. Robertson
Guillermo Robles, DO
James T. Ross IV
John Schetz, PhD
Wolfram Siede, PhD
Gary D. Smith, EdD
Lydia R. St John
Karen D. Stanley
Howard L.Trice
Nubia Isabel Vecino, MD, MHA, CRC
Carrie Ann Yager
Manongdo Liang-Jun Yan

10 Years
David G. Aldrich
Alakananda Basu, PhD
Susan Bitner, RT, CDT
Joan F. Carroll, PhD
Esperanza P. Davis, CPC
Bettina Tracey Downey
Sandra Kay Frost, LVN
Gloria Jean Fuller, CEH
Myoung H. Kim, PhD
Cathy J. Lee, RN, BSN, OCN
Cynthia Lee
Susan S.Libby
Leslie D. McGee
Linda DeeAnn McKinney
Gloria Jean Minyard
Amy Elaine Moss, DO
Sheila K. Mote
Maya Namboodiri, DO
Alton D. Neyland, FACHE
Donna J. Nowlin
Cindy Salazar
Judy E. Steudeman, RN
Wendy Stoecker
Jeanine M.Tankxley
Kathryn F. Taylor
Jerra S. Tillman
Cathy J. Torres, LSW, MHSM, CMC
Denise Maldonado Valtierra
Stuart F. Williams
Esmeralda Zepeda

15 Years
Chiana K. Diggs
Ladislav Dory, PhD
Teresa J. Dunn
Susan F. Franks, PhD
Michael L. Glover
Karen D. Johnson
Rebel L. Jones
Pamela M. McFadden
Mary Helen Pena, Sr. MA
John V. Planz, PhD
John K. Podgore, DO, MPH
Rustin E. Reeves, PhD
Carolyne W. Rodgers
Lisa L. Ruiz
Sherry K. Tanner
Randy E. Thomas

20 Years
John R. Bowling, DO
Bettie L. Castlebury
Claudia K. Coggin, PhD, CHES
Linda F. Cunningham, MD
Joel A. Daboub, MBA
Patricia A. Gibson
Stephen R. Grant, PhD
Loma S. Hooten
Cynthia Ann Jimenez-Williams, RN, BSN,CCRC
Mary F. Kelly
Janice A. Knebl, DO, MBA
Wanda Darlene Long
Phyllis A. Medearis
Shubhra Nandi
Walter L. Nettles
Deanna L. Ranker
Alicia Reyes Hilda Rivera
Vincent H. Robinson
Lynette Starwalt
Sandra G. Toombs
Mary E. Walsingham

25 Years
Rodney A. Barton, MS
Patrick R. Cammarata, PhD
Joelle Cumming
Joanne H. Davis, RN
Hope Molina
Lane C. Nestman
Bernard R. Rubin, DO, MPH
Hector Saenz
Raol Salinas
James Sims, PhD
Monte E. Troutman, DO

30 Years
Bobby R. Carter, MLS
Craig S. Elam, MLS, AHIP
Thomas J. Fairchild, PhD
Shirley A. Green
Charles D. Hooper, RPH
Tim Mason, MLS
Peggy M. Sims
Robert J. Wordinger, PhD

35 Years
John E. Aschenbrenner, PhD
Robert L. Kaman, JD, PhD



Submit notable achievements to news@hsc.unt.edu.

UNTHSC Logo Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 834 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699