March 20, 2009

2009 RAD Winners

This year UNTHSC students, residents and postdoctoral fellows from all schools presented 181 oral and poster research projects at Research Appreciation Day. Click here for a full list of RAD winners.

Several UNTHSC faculty and staff were honored for their efforts during last month’s Cowtown Marathon at a reception on March 11.

UNTHSC faculty and staff honored:
Robert Kaman, JD, PhD, professor, associate dean and director of outreach for the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences – Cowtown board member and chair of solutions area
Jean Tips, vice president of Marketing and Communications Cowtown board member
Donna Spencer, clinical medicine coordinator for Family Medicine—assistant to Cowtown medical director
Shirley Green, library associate – Cowtown chair of awards
Angelina Shelby, Human Resource Services benefits representative – Cowtown co-chair of course monitors and timers
Linda Shook, assistant to the director of Biomedical Communications – Cowtown co-chair of T-shirts
Ruth Washington, senior administrative assistant in Human Resource Services – Cowtown co-chair of T-shirts

Special Awards:
Nicki McGee, MPH, health promotions manager, received the Mary Lynne Caruso Award for coordinating and running packet pickup at the Health and Fitness Expo.
Albert Yurvati, DO (TCOM ’86), professor and chair of Surgery, received the Beverly Weiss Award for serving as this year’s medical director.
Marco Mendoza, assistant director of employee relations, received the Truman Award for coordinating the course monitors and timers for all six events.

Carl E. Everett, DO, UNTHSC founder, and Clay W. Gilbert, DO, retired physician and longtime UNTHSC supporter, were recently honored for their philanthropic support of the Health Science Center. Both received the Doctor of Philanthropy award, the Health Science Center’s highest level of philanthropic support.

Sejong Bae, PhD, MS, associatie professor of Biostatistics, has been elected as a member of the International Statistical Institute (ISI), a scientific association made up of internationally recognized leaders in the field of statistics. Dr. Bae was selected for his leadership excellence in the development of statistical methods and their applications.UNTHSC logo

Submit notable achievements to

UNTHSC Logo Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 834 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699