Highlights - News and notes from the office of the President
White Coat Ceremony
The Health Science Center will welcome 200 incoming Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (TCOM) students and 70 incoming Physician Assistant Studies students into the medical profession at its traditional annual White Coat Ceremony at 2 p.m. on Saturday, July 24, at the Will Rogers Auditorium. There will be a reception immediately following the ceremony at the new Medical Education and Training building.

Upcoming events
TCOM Reunion: The TCOM Classes of '75, '80, '85, '90, '95, '00, '05 will meet at the Health Science Center on Sept. 17-18.

Day in the District: On Sept. 25, Cultural District destinations will offer free admissions and free performances for Day in the District. The Health Science Center is once again participating in the event.

DO Dash: The annual 5K run hosted by Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine students is Oct. 9.

To Your Health Gala: "White Coat. Black Tie." is the theme for the annual gala on Oct. 23.

Did you know?
The Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine is the only Texas medical school that requires its students to use a personal digital assistant (PDA) or smartphone. First-year TCOM students learn smartphone basics and how to find targeted medical information using smartphone applications in their medical informatics course.

Health Science Center earns FWISD achievement award
The UNT Health Science Center has received the Fort Worth Independent School District's (FWISD) Golden Achievement Award for Partnership Excellence for the seventh consecutive year. The award recognizes the Health Science Center for providing programs and resources to support the academic achievement of FWISD students.

Couple earns honors for work in aging
The wife-and-husband team of Janice Knebl, DO, MBA, and Thomas Fairchild, PhD, will be honored Sept. 14 by the Senior Citizen Services of Greater Tarrant County, Inc. for their work in clinical geriatrics and gerontology. The pair will receive the group's annual "Outstanding Citizens for Seniors" award. This year's Awards Dinner is hosted by Anne Bass and Scott Ransom. Dr. Knebl has also been named the winner of the Mildred O. Hogstel Award by the Tarrant County Gerontological Society for her involvement in gerontological education.

TOMA honors recent alumni
The Texas Osteopathic Medical Association has honored several TCOM alumni with top annual honors. Giti Azmabalani, DO ('03), was named New Physician of the Year, and Jessica Toler Huerta, DO ('10), was named student doctor of the year.

Foundation Board adds 10 new members
The Health Science Center Foundation Board has announced the addition of 10 new members.  Henry Borbolla III, is vice president and business development officer for Community Bank. John Lloyd Crawford, MD, is a board-certified general and vascular surgeon and an adjunct clinical assistant professor of Surgery at TCOM. Michael M. Dallas, CFP, owns Michael Dallas Wealth Management and has written several books and articles on retirement planning and wealth management. Marie Holliday, DMD, is a dentist in private practice and owner of Parfumerie Marie Antonette and Marie Antoinette's Flowers to Go in Sundance Square. James J. Kerrigan is vice president and health care analyst for Luther King Capital Management and a guest lecturer for the TCU Educational Investment Fund. Benjamin Dagley Loughry is managing partner for Integra Realty Resources DFW, LLP, the largest valuation/consulting company in the country. Randall C. Perkins, DO, is a family practice physician in Grapevine and a clinical assistant professor of Family Medicine at TCOM. G. Douglas Tatum Jr., MD, is an assistant professor at TCOM who practices obstetrics and gynecology for UNT Health at John Peter Smith Hospital. Michele Reynolds is chair of the UNTHSC Health Aging Council. Libby Watson is chair of the UNTHSC School of Public Health Dean's Council.

Foundation Board members serve, without compensation, as advocates, advisors and strategists. They partner with the UNTHSC leadership and the Office of Institutional Advancement to help make friends, raise community awareness and conduct fundraising campaigns for the benefit of the Health Science Center. Board members serve for three-year terms.

TCOM donates time, service to community
The TCOM classes of 2012 and 2013 logged more than 4,700 hours of clinical community service during the Spring 2010 semester. Students are required as a part of the TCOM curriculum to complete 10 hours of community medical-related service that is free or low-cost and supervised by a licensed medical professional. Many students went above the call of duty, logging as many as 52 hours during the semester. Students volunteered to provide medical services at events including community health fairs, sporting events and indigent clinics.

Office of the President monthly e-newsletter

UNT Health Science Center at Fort Worth
3500 Camp Bowie Blvd.
Fort Worth, Texas 76107

(817) 735-2000

Copyright (C) 2010 UNT Health Science Center at Fort Worth All rights reserved.

UNT Health Science Center