Highlights - News and notes from the office of the President

Clinics exceed standards
Two UNT Health clinical sites met or exceeded national standards for patient satisfaction during a survey conducted in November, and several providers became members of the UNT Health Excellence Club.

UNT Health participates in the American Medical Group Association (AMGA) patient satisfaction survey twice a year, which benchmarks the survey results against all physician offices that belong to the group, as well as against UNT Health's own standards. Based on these results, several practitioners became members of UNT Health's Excellence Club:

Melchor Boone, MD, Obstetrics & Gynecology
Khoi Chu, MD, Obstetrics & Gynecology
Kathleen Crowley, MD, Obstetrics & Gynecology
Frank DeLeon, MD, Obstetrics & Gynecology
Lauren Fallis, PA-C, Pediatrics
Arnold Fikkert, DO, Surgery
John Fling, MD, Allergy and Immunology
Jennifer Hinkle, MD, Obstetrics & Gynecology
Kollier Hinkle, MD, Obstetrics & Gynecology
David Moreland, MD, Obstetrics & Gynecology
Joseph Pallone, DO, Obstetrics & Gynecology
Mo-Ping Tham, DO, Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine
Stuart Williams, DO, Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine
Albert Yurvati, DO, Surgery

Save the Date
6th Annual Health Disparities Conference - June 16-17, UNTHSC campus
White Coat Ceremony - July 23, 2 p.m., Will Rogers Auditorium

DNA experts share insight on bin Laden ID
Bruce Budowle, PhD, director of UNTHSC’s Institute of Applied Genetics, was quoted in more than 450 news outlets regarding the DNA identification process that may have been used in identifying Osama bin Laden. Ranajit Chakraborty, PhD, director of the institute's Center for Computational Genetics, was quoted in The Wall Street Journal, pointing out that kinship analysis is routinely used in the current DNA forensic community.

UNTHSC graduates a record 387 on May 14
The 38th annual UNTHSC Commencement ceremony was held May 14 in Daniel-Meyer Coliseum at Texas Christian University. A record 387 graduates from the four UNTHSC schools received graduate-level degrees. A live streaming video of the event was available for the first time for those unable to attend the ceremony. The commencement speaker was Steven Wartman, MD, PhD, president of the nonprofit Association of Academic Health Centers in Washington, D.C.

Carl E. Everett Education and Administration Building
The building formerly known as the Education and Administration Building on the UNTHSC campus will now be known as the Carl E. Everett Education and Administration Building in honor of Carl Everett, DO, who was instrumental in founding and building the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine. The honor was approved by the UNT System Board of Regents on May 12 and formally announced at Commencement Ceremonies on May 14.

New PhD program approved
The Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board approved the UNTHSC School of Public Health's request to offer a doctoral degree in Public Health Sciences beginning this fall. This will be the fourth degree offered by the School of Public Health. The new degree program prepares pro­fessionals for research, teaching and service with the overall objective of improving the health of populations. Training will concentrate on biostatistics; epidemiology; environmental and occupational health sciences; social and behavioral science; and health management and policy.

Two new chairs named
Meharvan Singh, PhD, was named chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience effective May 1. Singh, professor, had been acting chair for the past year. Frank Filipetto, DO, currently vice chairman of the University of Medicine & Dentistry of New Jersey's (UMDNJ) Family Medicine Department, takes the reins of heading the Department of Family Medicine beginning July 15. Flipetto holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in biology, graduating summa cum laude from Temple University in Philadelphia. His DO degree is from the Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine. Filipetto earned several UMDNJ honors, including Master Educator, Excellence in Teaching and Teacher of the Year awards. He received the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians Fellow Award in 2003. In addition, he serves on several committees of the National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners.

Office of the President monthly e-newsletter

UNT Health Science Center at Fort Worth
3500 Camp Bowie Blvd.
Fort Worth, Texas 76107

(817) 735-2000

Copyright (C) 2011 UNT Health Science Center at Fort Worth All rights reserved.

UNT Health Science Center