UNT Health Science Center logo

Posted: August 08, 2002


The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth is once again the sole recipient of the Texas Academy of Family Physicians Medical School Award of Achievement for its commitment to family practice. This is the ninth year the health science center has received the award. The award is given annually to institutions that have at least 25 percent of the graduating class enter a family practice residency program. The health science center has been the sole recipient of this award four times in the last nine years, including this year. This year, 34 percent of graduates from the health science center entered a family practice residency program. "Most of the physicians in rural communities are approaching or are past retirement age. The increased need for family physicians becomes more critical because family physicians provide the full spectrum of patient care, from delivering babies to caring for children, adults and elders, in both the hospital and physician's office," Samuel T. Coleridge, D.O., chairman of family medicine at the health science center. "Our university has been successful in encouraging our graduates to enter into primary care residencies; especially, family practice. In fact, U.S. News & World Report ranked TCOM 39th of 145 U.S. medical schools in primary care. Our challenge remains whether, in the future, we can fulfill this critical need for the citizens of Texas," he said. The award was presented to Dr. Coleridge at TAFP's 2002 annual session in San Antonio in July.

If you are with the media and need additional information or would like to arrange an interview,
please contact Jeff Carlton, Director of Media Relations, at 817-735-7630.


bottom frame