UNT Health Science Center logo

Posted: July 29, 2003


The Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine (TCOM) at the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth is once again the sole recipient of the Texas Academy of Family Physicians Medical School Award of Achievement for its commitment to family practice. This is the 10th year the health science center has received the award.

The award is given annually to institutions that have at least 25 percent of the graduating class enter a family practice residency program. The health science center has been the sole recipient of this award five times this decade, including this year.

This year, 29 percent of TCOM graduates entered a family practice residency program.

“Most of the physicians in rural communities are approaching or are past retirement age. The increased need for family physicians becomes more critical because family physicians provide the full spectrum of patient care, from delivering babies to caring for children, adults and elders, in both the hospital and physician's office,” said Elizabeth Palmarozzi, DO, chair of family medicine at the health science center.

“As dean, I am proud of our osteopathic heritage and the historical foundations for which this school was established, as well as the impact we have on primary care in the state of Texas. In fact, U.S. News & World Report ranked TCOM 20th of 145 U.S. medical schools in primary care. Our challenge remains to continue to fulfill this critical need for the citizens of Texas,” said Marc B. Hahn, DO, dean of the medical school.

The award was presented to Dr. Hahn at TAFP’s 2003 annual session in Arlington in July.


If you are with the media and need additional information or would like to arrange an interview,
please contact Jeff Carlton, Director of Media Relations, at 817-735-7630.


bottom frame