UNT Health Science Center logo

Posted: June 20, 2005


me1.jpg Jeffrey Keith Beeson, DO, won a plaque and $1,000 as this year’s recipient of the President's Award at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine’s senior awards reception.

The President's Award is given to the graduating senior that exhibits excellence in academics, professionalism, TCOM service, commitment to osteopathic medicine, and is expected to make a contribution to the profession.

In addition, Dr. Beeson’s wife, Jeanice Beeson, won $500 and a framed certificate as this year’s recipient of the Donna Jones Moritsugu Award.

The Donna Jones Moritsugu Award was established in memory of Donna Jones Moritsugu, who was the wife of Dr. Kenneth P. Moritsugu, assistant surgeon general of the United States Public Health Service. Dr. Moritsugu has been a collegue, counselor and friend of the osteopathic profession for many years in medical education, research and health service delivery.

In 1999, the award became fully underwritten by Eli Lilly & Company. The American Osteopathic Foundation makes one award of a plaque or trophy at each college of osteopathic medicine, and the individual schools may choose to supplement with a cash award.

The award is given annually the spouse of a graduating student who best exemplifies the role of a professional’s partner, in being a person in his or her own right, while being supportive of mate, family and profession.

Dr. Beeson, a Fort Worth native, earned an A.S.N. in nursing from Southwest Adventist College and a doctor of osteopathic medicine degree from TCOM. He will complete his residency in emergency medicine at the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School.

The reception took place May 19 at the Fort Worth Club.


Contact: Andrea Arterbery 817-735-5152 pager: 817-216-0345 e-mail: aarterbe@hsc.unt.edu

If you are with the media and need additional information or would like to arrange an interview,
please contact Jeff Carlton, Director of Media Relations, at 817-735-7630.


bottom frame