UNT Health Science Center logo

Posted: July 11, 2005


Patrick Keehan, DO, was named Student Doctor of the Year by the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association.

This is inaugural year of the award, which is presented to a fourth-year osteopathic medical student from Texas in recognition of outstanding accomplishments in academic achievement, leadership and service to the community and the osteopathic profession.

An Arlington native, Dr. Keehan received a doctor of osteopathy degree during spring commencement ceremonies at the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth. He was a student in the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Dr. Keehan will begin a rotating internship at Plaza Medical Center in Fort Worth.

Prior to medical school, Dr. Keehan earned a bachelor of science degree in mechanical engineering from Texas A&M University and a master of business administration degree at Dallas Baptist University. While a medical student, Dr. Keehan was on the TCOM Dean’s List during the spring of 2004 and was named to Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges for 2003-2004.

He was active in the Medical Student Government Association, serving as its first vice president, elections committee chair and curriculum committee chair. He was vice president of the TCOM Class of 2005 for two years and served as president of the Business and Medicine Club. In addition, Dr. Keehan was the Class of 2005 student representative to TOMA for two years.

As a student member of TOMA, Dr. Keehan served as an ex-officio member of the TOMA Board of Trustees, as a student delegate to the TOMA House of Delegates, the policy-making body of the association, and as a member of the TOMA Governmental Relations and DOME Day committees. Dr. Keehan was also a student coordinator for the TOMA annual convention for 2002-2003.

On the national level, Dr. Keehan was an alternate student delegate to the American Osteopathic Association House of Delegates.

While maintaining his academic standing, Dr. Keehan participated in various community activities. He was a first-aid volunteer at the Fort Worth Cowtown Marathon, a participant in the “What’s in a Doctor’s Bag” series at Dunbar Middle School, and a volunteer at community service blood drive programs. He is a member of the Sigma Sigma Phi National Honorary Osteopathic Fraternity.

The Student Doctor of the Year Award was announced on Saturday, June 4, during TOMA’s 106th Annual Convention and Scientific Seminar, which took place June 1 through June 5 at the Hilton in Austin.


Contact: Kay Colley 817-735-2553, cell 817-980-5090, e-mail kacolley@hsc.unt.edu.

If you are with the media and need additional information or would like to arrange an interview,
please contact Jeff Carlton, Director of Media Relations, at 817-735-7630.


bottom frame