UNT Health Science Center logo

Posted: July 05, 2006

Elmore Wins Benavides Memorial Award at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine Senior Awards Banquet

Jennifer Elmore, DO, won $1,000 and a plaque as this year’s recipient of the Benavides Memorial Award at the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine’s senior awards banquet.

The Benavides Memorial Award was established in 1997 in memory of the Tarrant County Medical Society’s late executive director Leo Benavides. He coordinated staff, communications and programs linking 2,000 physician and medical students. He also created healthcare coalitions that established emergency medical service systems and started a journalistic intern program at the Medical Society.

Applications for the award are accepted from all fourth-year students with membership in the Texas Medical Association, regardless of grade point average or class standing.

Dr. Elmore, a native of Keller, earned a Bachelor of Science degree in clinical lab science from Texas Tech University Health Science Center and a Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine degree from TCOM. She will complete her residency in anesthesiology at Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio.

The senior awards banquet was held May 19 at the Fort Worth Club.


If you are with the media and need additional information or would like to arrange an interview,
please contact Jeff Carlton, Director of Media Relations, at 817-735-7630.


bottom frame