UNT Health Science Center logo

Posted: April 17, 2001


FORT WORTH, Texas— Highlights of more than 150 student research projects were presented at the University of North Texas Health Science Center’s ninth annual Research Appreciation Day March 23. Prizes were awarded to the top participants in each category.

Graduate Student Association Research Poster Award:
  • Michelle Wright Valderas, first place
  • Michael Lawrence, second place
  • Tom Valencia, third place
  • Paromita Das, fourth place
  • Anson Pierce, fifth place
  • Abbott Research Achievement Award for Oral Presentation:
  • Cassie L. Johnson, first place
  • Sara Taylor, second place
  • Joungil Choi, third place
  • Alcon Laboratories Research Achievement Award for Postdoctoral/Resident Poster:
  • Harishika S. Bhatt, PhD
  • Fort Worth MedTech Center Innovation Award:
  • Xin Wang
  • Research Appreciation Day is an annual opportunity for health science center faculty, staff and students to share research results, explore potential joint research projects and enhance the community's awareness of the research conducted at the health science center.

    If you are with the media and need additional information or would like to arrange an interview,
    please contact Jeff Carlton, Director of Media Relations, at 817-735-7630.


    bottom frame