UNT Health Science Center logo

Posted: June 18, 2007

Physician Assistant Studies Program presents 14 awards

The Physician Assistant Studies Program presented 14 awards to students and faculty at their graduation dinner at the Petroleum Club of Fort Worth.

  The President’s Scholar Award was presented to Rachel Miller, the highest academic honor given by the program. The award is given for high overall academic achievement, excellence in research, excellence in clinical rotations, participation and leadership in student activities, and demonstrated commitment to the profession.  President Scott Ransom presented the award.

  Jany Rorick made such an impact on the faculty and her fellow students that they created an award just for her. She received the Heart of Compassion Award for “extraordinary offerings of goodwill, generosity and consideration.” Janie was known around campus for her volunteer efforts such as collecting clothes and shoes for victims of accidents or illness at local hospitals, and collecting care packages for Hurricane Katrina victims.

  Other awards presented at the ceremony included:

  Rachel A. Miller- President's Scholar Award

  Britni R. McBryde - Outstanding Achievement - Didactic Studies

  Suzanne M. Melville - Outstanding Achievement - Clinical Studies

  Michael S. Nye and Roxanne M. Simper - Master’s Project Excellence Award for “Physical and Physiological Changes Observed Following the Lap-Band Surgical Procedure.”

  Rachel A. Miller - Master’s Project Excellence Award for “A Proposed Interactive Educational Program Aimed to Encourage Pregnant Adolescents to Include Folate in Their Daily Diets.”

  Laura A. Gonzales and Suzanne M. Melville - Master’s Project Excellence Award for “The Degree of Success of Lap Band Recipients Based on Objective and Subjective Data.”

  Jennifer D. Erwin and Sarah C. McClendon - Master’s Project Excellence Award for “A Prevention Program to Improve Recognition of the Characteristics and Problems Associated With Childhood Obesity.”

  Britni R. McBryde - Outstanding Master’s Project for “How Knowledge of Medication Regimens Influences Compliance in an Ambulatory Geriatric Population Taking Multiple Medications.”

  Mary Jane Rorick - Heart of Compassion Award
PA Jim Roch - Outstanding Faculty Award

  Dr. Sam W. Buchanan - Outstanding Clinical Faculty of the Year 

If you are with the media and need additional information or would like to arrange an interview,
please contact Jeff Carlton, Director of Media Relations, at 817-735-7630.


bottom frame