January 7, 1998


FORT WORTH, Texas -- A new TCOM (Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine) Alumni Association board of directors was elected to lead the 1,878 member organization in 1998 and 1999.

Fort Worth native, Dr. Greg Smith, a 1983 TCOM graduate, is president of the association. He is currently practicing medicine in Aurora, Colorado, and is the Director of Osteopathic Medical Education for the Health ONE Osteopathic Medical Education.

Newly elected board members include Dr. James Czewski '77, president-elect, Fort Worth; Dr. Elizabeth Palmarozzi '84, Fort Worth; Dr. Jim Froelich '81, Bonham, Texas; Dr. Tony Hedges '91, Littlefield, Texas; Dr. David Hill '93, Cuero, Texas; Dr. John Jones '87, Pomona, California; Dr. Jack McCarty '78, Lubbock, Texas; Dr. Ray Morrison '86, Tyler, Texas; Dr. Dan Saylak '83, College Station; and Dr. Rodney Wiseman '78, Whitehouse, Texas.

Continuing board members are Dr. TeCora Ballom '84, Arlington, Texas; Dr. Robert Stockburger '77, Arlington, Texas; Dr. Dale Chisum '78, Wichita, Kansas; Dr. Steve Ellerbe '90, Liberty, Texas; Dr. Audrey Jones '88, immediate past president, McAllen, Texas; and Dr. Gary Wolf '77, Mansfield, Texas.

"There's real enthusiasm among these association leaders, and I've not seen an eagerness like they have to get to work on a new agenda," said Dr. Smith. He is the 19th president of the TCOM Alumni Association. "Our priorities include getting our alums involved and active, and offering programs to advance the profession and to support current TCOM students."

The Alumni Association provides leadership in the professional development of the medical school's graduates, and seeks to advance osteopathic medicine and the medical school. Board members serve three year terms. TCOM's alums number 1,878 physicians and surgeons across the U.S. with perhaps 75 percent practicing in Texas.