March 23, 2007
  Top Story

UNT Health logo

Search for UNT Health president begins

A new position has been created to lead the Health Science Center’s physician group, UNT Health, and the committee charged to select the first holder of that position kicked off its national search this week. Chairing the search for the first president of UNT Health, who will also carry the title of senior vice president for clinical affairs, is Elizabeth Palmarozzi, DO, chair of family and community medicine and a 1984 TCOM graduate. Co-chair is Christine Kalish, MBA, executive director to the president. Witt Kieffer, an executive search firm that specializes in healthcare recruitment, will work with the committee to conclude the search by June (in order to have the new chief executive officer on campus by September). The UNT Health president will be responsible for the physician group’s strategic planning, practice operations, finance, risk management, quality improvement, marketing, communications, business development and the development of successful clinical partnerships with area health organizations.

Members of the search committee are: Roy Brooks, Tarrant County commissioner; Stan Dennis, senior vice president for managed care, Texas Health Resources; Arvind Nana, MD, assistant professor of orthopedic surgery; Alan Podawiltz, DO, chair of psychiatry, behavioral health and neuroscience; Troy Villarreal, chief executive officer, Plaza Medical Center of Fort Worth; and Al Yurvati, DO, chair of surgery and a 1986 TCOM graduate.

View a draft position description for the president of UNT Health.

Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 806 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699