April 20, 2007
  Top Story

Dr. Knebl

Jan Jowitt




UNTHSC Foundation golf tournament is a success

Despite a cloudy sky and a brisk wind, 100 golfers took to the links at Ridglea Country Club April 9 for the 2nd annual President’s Invitational Tournament, a community event held by the UNT Health Science Center Foundation. The Foundation – a private, not-for-profit organization created in 1978 by TCOM’s founders – is now led by a board of directors comprising community and business leaders, alumni and donors. The board will use the golf tournament’s revenue to conduct other events throughout the year that raise money and awareness for the Health Science Center’s clinical, research, educational and student scholarship programs. Most recently, Foundation board members, working in concert with the Office of Institutional Advancement, have raised more than $3 million to help finish out the Center for BioHealth.

Taking first place in this year’s golf tournament was the Healthpoint, Ltd., team of Michael Steadman, John Harvey, Steve Clark and Jay Heitz.

Second place was won by the Carter::Burgess team of Ben Watts, John Hall, Fred Evans and Scott Clark.

The Physician’s Surgical Group team won third place. Team members included Todd Young, DO, TCOM ’95, Christopher Pratt, DO, TCOM ’97, Bill Meredith and Jerry Jirik.

Janice Knebl, DO, Internal Medicine, won closest to the line; Jan Jowitt, Family and Community Medicine, won longest drive; and Dave Johnson won longest putt.

The Fort Worth architecture and engineering firm of Carter::Burgess was presenting sponsor for the tournament. To see a full listing of the more than two dozen other organizations that supported this year’s event, check out the thank-you advertisement that was in the April 16 issue of the Fort Worth Business Press.

Nineteen volunteers from the Health Science Center family also worked the tournament. They were: Corrie Brown, TCOM Office of the Dean; Amy Buresh, Marketing and Communications; Miranda Carter, Strategy and Measurement; Sonja Carter, wife of Bobby Carter in the Library; Amy Chambers, Pharmacology and Neuroscience; Louise Hall, Human Resources; Matt Havlik, Marketing and Communications; Lauren LaFleur, Marketing and Communications; Pam McFadden, Professional and Continuing Education; Stacy Page, Institutional Advancement; DeVetra Patrick, Academic Affairs; Shea Patterson-Young, Marketing and Communications; Tony Rousseau, Institutional Advancement; Dana Russell, Marketing and Communications; Damon Schranz, DO, Family and Community Medicine; Dona Smith, Institutional Advancement; Karen Wegienek, Institutional Advancement; Michelle West, Institutional Advancement; and the late Sheila Zummo, Institutional Advancement. UNT HSC Logo


Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 806 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699