July 20, 2007

Dr. Bascom Bradshaw, TCOM ’01
… was named the 2007 US Army Aerospace Medicine Specialist of the Year by the Society of U.S. Army Flight Surgeons at the Aerospace Medical Association’s annual meeting in New Orleans in May. The award is presented by the society to a physician who has been residency-trained in aerospace medicine and has made significant contributions to army aviation medicine in the past year. In September, Dr. Bradshaw will become director of health services for the army garrison at Doha, Quatar, in the Persian Gulf.

Gloria Fuller, custodial services supervisor
… was elected president of the Texas Association of Physical Plant Administrators at the organization’s annual conference in Laredo in April. Her term will last one year. The Health Science Center will host TAPPA’s annual conference in 2009.

Dr. LaPonna Irvine-Moore, TCOM/GSBS ’07
… was named Student of the Year at the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association’s annual convention in San Antonio last month.

Dr. Janice Knebl, professor of geriatrics
… was selected as a member of the 2007-2008 class of Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine fellows by the Hedwig van Ameringen ELAM Program for Women at Drexel University Medical School in Philadelphia. The national program prepares senior women faculty for leadership at academic health centers.

Dr. Stephen Mathew, research assistant professor of molecular biology and immunology
…was invited to speak at the National Cancer Survivors Day celebration at Harris Methodist HEB Hospital in Bedford. Dr. Mathew presented his research on the role of natural killer cells in cancer therapy.

Dr. Mark Sanders, TCOM ’98, a physician in UNT Health’s Central Family and Community Medicine Clinic
… was named the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association’s 2007 New Physician of the Year. The honor was announced at TOMA’s annual convention in San Antonio last month.

Dr. Monte Troutman, chair of internal medicine
… was named president-elect of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association at the organization’s annual convention in San Antonio last month.

Roy Voss, property control receiving clerk
… and his bride, Corky, decided that the Central Receiving Department right here on campus was the perfect location for their June 15 wedding because it was quick and easy, and all their friends were already here! About 30 guests attended.



Dr. Thomas Yorio, senior vice president for research and dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
… was the victim, oops, we mean guest of honor, at a surprise party and roast that was held July 12 at Joe T. Garcia’s restaurant to celebrate his 30-year anniversary as a member of the Health Science Center family. Friends and colleagues came from as far away as Argentina and New York, and a number of former and current Health Science Center leaders provided humorous recollections and tall tales for the roast.





Dr. Eugene Zachary, professor emeritus of family medicine
… will give the annual A.T. Still Memorial Lecture to the American Osteopathic Association House of Delegates in Chicago on July 21. This is be the first time someone from Texas has been invited by the AOA Board of Trustees to give the speech. Dr. Zachary is a former member of both the AOA House of Delegates and Board of Trustees. Also, last month, Dr. Zachary received the 2007 Distinguished Service Award from the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association at its annual convention in San Antonio.

The School of Public Health 2007 Accreditation Team
… spent hundreds of hours preparing reports and conducting a successful site visit that resulted in their school earning the longest-term accreditation awarded by the Council on Education for Public Health, seven years. Congratulations! (And thanks to Dr. O’Neill for providing this list.)
Dr. Harvey Brenner
Dr. Katie Cardarelli
Dr. Claudia Coggin
Dr. Alberto Coustasse-Henke
Dr. Peter Hilsenrath
Dr. Eric Johnson
Dr. Liam O’Neill
Dr. Karan Singh
Cathy Spitzenberger
Dr. Tim Strawderman
Diane Wynn UNT HSC Logo

Submit notable achievements to news@hsc.unt.edu.

Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 806 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699