September 21, 2007


At the Friday night campus party, Dr. Alvin Mathé, a 1989 TCOM graduate and TCOM Internal Medicine faculty member (far right in photo), presented the TCOM Alumni Association Award of Academic Excellence to 10 TCOM students for “academic excellence, service to TCOM and commitment to the osteopathic profession.”

Class of 2010 Award Winners
Rachel Brennan
Jeremy Clark
Lon Hoang
Colten Luedke
Taylor Strange

Class of 2009 Award Winners
Anthony Archer
Abby Crume
Makasha Colonvega
Lauren Gray
Jeremy Warner

Dr. Czewski and Dr. Hahn

On Saturday night, Dr. Jim Czewski, TCOM Class of 1977, was presented the TCOM Dean’s Award for Distinguished Service by Dr. Marc Hahn for “outstanding commitment to the osteopathic profession; exemplary achievements as a physician and a personal role model for others; and service to the community, the profession and TCOM.” Dr. Czewski is a past president of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association and the TCOM Alumni Association.

Dr. Bander and Dr. Hahn

Dr. Hahn also presented the Dean’s Award for Philanthropy to Dr. Steven Bander, TCOM Class of 1982, for “generous support of the students who follow in your footsteps and your personal involvement in the growth and success of your alma mater.” Dr. Bander and several classmates founded the TCOM Boogie Band in the 1980s. In 2003 the band reunited and released its “20th Anniversary Reunion World Tour” CD, which was used to raise more than $20,000 for TCOM student scholarships.


Cruise Winners

A high point of Saturday’s banquet was the auction of a Carnival Caribbean cruise, complete with accommodations in the owner’s suite – a $5,000 value. Dr. Stephanie Bryan, TCOM Class of 2004 (far right in photo), who was a travel agent in her previous life, obtained the cruise for the auction. Proceeds will benefit the TCOM Class of 2010, and class members Matt Maruska, Jenny Ozan and Jessica Toler were on hand for the event. The winner of the cruise was Dr. George Knapp, TCOM Class of 1982 (center in photo).



Everyone who planned and participated in TCOM’s 2007 Alumni Reunion Weekend
… proved that a successful reunion takes a lot of hard work by a lot of people. TCOM alumni from the Classes of 1977, 1982, 1987, 1992 and 1997 “came home” Sept. 14 and 15 to renew old friendships, swap stories and see their alma mater’s ever-changing campus. The celebration began Friday afternoon with special arrangements for alumni to attend the annual Convocation & White Coat Ceremony, followed by a fun-filled evening of barbeque, reminiscing and student-led tours. Saturday’s agenda kicked off with a custom-designed CME program featuring alumni as expert presenters. That night, alumni and special guests gathered at the Hilton Hotel downtown for individual class receptions and an all-class banquet with awards and a live auction.

High fives all around for the employees and students who made this year’s TCOM Alumni Reunion Weekend a success:

Biomedical Communications
Laura Carter
Tina Downey
Tommy Hawkes
Tony Martinez
Rob Spurgeon

Community Engagement:
Institutional Advancement,
Marketing & Communications
Denise Armstrong
Amy Baker
Sue Bulgin
Krista Gordon
Keith Overstreet
Tony Rousseau
Dona Smith
Jean Tips
Greg Upp
Shannon Vanderburg
Michelle West
Janet Zipperlen

Custodial Services
Brian Blankenship
Maria Castaneda
Gloria Fuller

Mike Green
Odell Griffin
Laura Lugo
Phyllis Medearis
Eufemia Mendoza
Vincent Robinson
Adrianna Serrano

Facilities Management
Terry Davidson
Kenneth Dunn
Terry Morgan
Wayland Pike
Mark Pugh
Sallie Spotanski

Lewis Library
Dan Burgard
Lisa Smith

President’s Office
Gayanne Clemens
Chris Kalish
Shea Patterson
Dr. Scott Ransom

Professional and Continuing Education
Cissy Childs
Connie Costen
Andrew Crim
Martha Horsman
Pam McFadden
Jerra Tillman
Eric Walker
Kelly Zarwell

TCOM Dean’s Office
Corrie Brown
Dr. Marc B. Hahn
Dawn Kingdon

Dr. John Aschenbrenner
Dr. Bruce Dubin
Dr. Russ Gamber

Student Tour Guides
Heather Brandfellner
Hetal Gadhia
Sheva Khorrami
Shaye Tegeler
Jessica Toler


At the Health Science Center’s 10th annual Convocation & White Coat Ceremony Sept. 14…



Our newest students
… were “cloaked” in the white coats that symbolize their chosen careers in health and science, and they took an oath acknowledging their responsibilities and willingness to assume the obligations of their new professions.

Alfred Hurly and Dr. Ransom


Alfred F. Hurley, University of North Texas Chancellor Emeritus/UNT System Chancellor Emeritus
… was awarded the Founder’s Medal for his contributions to health care and osteopathic medical education. He was recognized for his “admirable leadership as the UNT System’s 12th president” and his “faithful support” of the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine and the UNT Health Science Center.

Rosie Moncrief

Rosie Moncrief, Fort Worth’s first lady
… received the Mary E. Luibel Distinguished Service Award for her “years of visionary leadership in seeking to achieve quality health care in her community.” President Scott Ransom read a proclamation that highlighted Moncrief’s work with several community organizations and her service as a member of the UNT Health Science Center Foundation Board of Directors.
Vincent Robinson, Custodial Services
June Coleman, Telecommunications
Shea Patterson-Young, Office of the President
Captain C.B. Mays, Campus Police
Officer Andrew Wade, Campus Police
… worked together to assist a man who had a medical emergency on the Health Science Center campus Sept. 14. Vincent noticed the man lying on the sidewalk with shortness of breath on the Camp Bowie side of the EAD Building and alerted June, who called 911. Officer Wade assisted the man while Shea and Captain Mays flagged down the ambulance. Great teamwork!


Submit notable achievements to

Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 806 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699