April 4, 2008

Dr. James Simpkins, chair of pharmacology and neuroscience,
Dr. Sanjay Awasthi, associate vice president of molecular biology and immunology,
Dr. Yogesh Awasthi, professor of molecular biology and immunology, and
Darlene Ryan, executive director of TECH Fort Worth
… were named four of Fort Worth’s most brilliant minds by Fort Worth, Texas magazine in its April edition. The Awasthis were recognized for their work in the fight to cure cancer through research on an elusive transfer protein called RLIP76. Dr. Simpkins’ pursuit of hormone therapy in the treatment of women with Alzheimer’s disease was highlighted. And, the magazine touts Ryan’s extensive experience as an entrepreneur

RAD Winners
Congratulations to all Research Appreciation Day (RAD) 2008 participants and winners. Nearly 200 research submissions were on display this year at RAD. Over $9,000 in prize money was awarded as well as a round-trip flight donated by Travel Service Everywhere.  For a complete list of RAD 2008 winners click here.

Carl Bluemel, electronic media manager, and
Cleatus Wallis, senior web analyst
… successfully developed and launched the new UNTHSC Internet site. Read more about the site, which launched this week, in the News Briefs section.

Server Upgrade Team
A multi-departmental task force successfully overhauled UNTHSC’s server system.  The job included installing and organizing new and existing servers and equipment, and a complete rewiring of the server room. The updated system will give UNTHSC’s servers more reliability and better security.

Leonor Acevedo
David Aldrich
Hortensia Avina
Burt Brineger
Jim Clark
Kenneth Dunn
Steve Fogoros
Michael Hollis
Susan Libby
Alex Manea
Brian Maziasz
Sheila Mote
Jennifer Quinn
Craig Rowland
Kathryn Taylor

Fort Worth Top Docs
UNT Health physicians from a number of specialties were named Top Docs by Fort Worth, Texas magazine in its April 2008 edition, on newsstands now. To compile the list, approximately 3,000 area physicians identified professionals whom they regard as being leaders in their industry.

John A. Fling

General Family Practice
Brent Sanderlin, TCOM ’96
Thomas Dayberry, TCOM ’97
Phillip Saperstein

Lynn Speaks, TCOM ’98

Palliative Care
Mark Sanders, TCOM ’98, SPH ’05
Alvin Mathe, TCOM ’89

Martin Weiss

Long Hoang, TCOM ’96
Monte Troutman

Janice Knebl

Infectious Diseases
Barbara Atkinson, TCOM ’96

Internal Medicine
Giti Azmabalani

William McIntosh

R. Larry Marshall
Bernard Rubin, SPH ’01

Gynecological Oncology
Ralph Anderson
Salvatore LoCoco

Brian Carpenter
Alan Garrett

David Lichtman
Arvind Nana
Brian Tobias

Marianne Levine, TCOM ’85
Sarah Matches, TCOM ’89
John Podgore, SPH ’01

Carol Nati
Alan Podawiltz
Gary Etter

General Surgery
Arnold Fikkert
Sam Buchanan, TCOM ’75

Vascular Surgery
Al Yurvati, TCOM ’86


Physicians from Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders, our collaborator the Institute for Cancer and Blood Disorders, also made the list.

Lance Mandell
Mary Ann Skiba




Greg Friess, TCOM ’79
William Jordan
Ann-Margaret Ochs
Ray Page, TCOM ’91
Robin Young
Vinaya Potluri


Radiology Oncology
Peter LaNasa

HSC Alums on the Top Docs list:

Cardiac/ Thoracic Surgery
William E. Wallace, TCOM ’80

William Cothern, TCOM ’81

Chris P. Bajaj, TCOM ’00

General Family Practice
Michael Ampelas, TCOM ’02
Norma Escamilla, TCOM ’00


Gynecology/ Obstetrics
Mickey Hooper, TCOM ’97
John E. Miers, TCOM ’77

Internal Medicine
Michael P. Adamo, TCOM ’80
Niraj Mehta, TCOM ’01

Charlece Scoma Hughes, TCOM ’00

Kevin Wylie, TCOM ’90


Sleep Medicine
Terry Peery, TCOM ’98

Cosmetic Surgery
Michael Thornton, TCOM ’97

General Surgery
Arnold Fikkert, TCOM ’97
Adriane K. Martin, TCOM ’99
German L. Berbel, TCOM ’93

Dr. Tina K. Machu, associate professor of pharmacology and neuroscience
… has been named assistant dean of pre-clinical medical education for TCOM. Dr. Machu will support the coordination, planning, administration, evaluation and quality of the pre-clinical medical education curriculum. She will continue her faculty appointment as associate professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Neuroscience.

Janet Jowitt, RN, DHA, director of nursing at the Patient Care Center
… earned her doctorate in health administration degree from the University of Phoenix in January.



Submit notable achievements to news@hsc.unt.edu.

Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 834 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699