April 18, 2008


Vickie Maxfield-Small

Vickie Maxfield-Small, senior medical assistant for Family Medicine
… earned the Above and Beyond Award from the Department of Family Medicine for her outstanding patient service. In a recent e-mail to her supervisors, a patient noted Maxfield-Small’s excellent assistance making appointments and obtaining referrals: “She has done so with speed, accuracy and, most of all, with a refreshing cheerfulness and warmth that always made us feel as if we were the only thing on her mind at the time, rather than the many demands that she must have been facing.” Central Family Medicine Clinic staff members pictured from left to right are: Dr. Thomas Dayberry, medical director; Maxfield-Small; Judy Steudeman, nursing services supervisor; and Sandy Booker, clinic supervisor.

Steve Woodall, director of Records Management
… has been designated a Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA) by ISACA, an organization of information governance, control, security and audit professionals. CISA is ISACA’s highest certification and is a globally accepted standard of achievement among information systems professionals.

Carter Award presented

Carter Blood Care honors UNTHSC
For the second consecutive year, Carter Blood Care has recognized UNTHSC for having the highest number of blood donors of any college or university in our territory. In 2007, UNTHSC made 222 blood donations during drives held on campus... that's 666 lives touched by our donors. UNTHSC holds six blood drives a year. The next drive is May 13. Carter Blood Care offers benefits to UNTHSC employees, students and their family members in need of blood services. Contact Carter Blood Care for more information on their services. Sallie Spotanski, administrative associate in Facilities Management and blood coordinator for UNTHSC, presented the award to Chris Kalish, vice president and chief of staff, and Dr. Scott Ransom, UNTHSC president.

Dennis Shingleton, former chief of staff for the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine
... was named assistant dean for finance and administration for TCOM. Shingleton will oversee administrative operations of all of TCOM's departments, including employment, organizational assessments, budgetary compliance and financial management of all the dean's funds and budgets. He also will serve as the dean's liaison to administration and other schools at UNTHSC and affiliates.

SPH faculty, alumni and students brought home awards from the 2008 Midwest Business Administration Association Conference in Chicago earlier this month.

  • Dr. Alberto Coustasse, research assistant professor in health management and policy; Dr. Sejong Bae, associate professor of biostatistics; and Dr. Karan Singh, chair of biostatistics; won Best Paper for Issues in Healthcare: Elderly, Hospice, and Home Care for their research on disparities in reported disabilities among Asian communities.
  • Siddharth Parmar, SPH Class of ’07; Dr. Coustasse; and Dr. Doug Mains, associate director of strategy and measurement; won Best Paper for Issues in Hospital Administration for their research on quality of care among hospitals.
  • Julius Larry, SPH student; Dr. Coustasse; and Cody Arvidson, research consultant in Student Affairs; won Best Paper in Issues in Health Care Education for their research on Kawasaki disease in Texas children.


Submit notable achievements to news@hsc.unt.edu.

Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 834 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699