September 5, 2008


John C. Licciardone, DO, professor and executive director of the Osteopathic Research Center
… has been named associate dean for clinical research in the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine.  As associate dean, his duties will include stimulating research, overseeing existing research and research collaborations inside and outside of the Health Science Center, and building research program growth and development. He also will continue his roles as professor, executive director of the Osteopathic Research Center and Osteopathic Clinical Research Chair for the Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine Department.

Damon Schranz, DO, assistant professor of Family and Community Medicine
… was elected chair of the UNTHSC Faculty Senate for a one-year term.  The Senate will elect a new vice chair at its next meeting on Sept. 8.

New Health Promotions Committee members
Seven new members were elected to the Health Promotions Committee by UNTHSC employees last month. The Health Promotion Committee represents staff, faculty and students in matters of health education, health promotion and fitness-related activities. This year the committee plans to play a large role in the success of the HUCowtown MarathonUH presented by the Health Science Center in February.

New members:
Blair Chappell
Crystal Ross
Dr. Carlos Reyes-Ortiz
Angie Owen
Mieshia Beamon
Kimberly Williams
Matt Garcia, TCOM student member

Existing members:
Natasha Cha
Shirley Green
Dr. Stephen Mathew
Nancy Tierney
Randy Sachs
Amber Ondricek, GSBS student member
Daniel Browne, SPH student member

Dr. Trisha Van Duser
Nicki McGee

Employee Benefit Action Committee elects new members
Eight UNTHSC employees are starting new terms on the EBAC. The EBAC represents employees in matters of benefits, and plans and sponsors several annual employee events. The committee also elected officials at their meeting this week.

EBAC Member starting new terms:
Hazel Dueboay, vice chair
Susan Bulgin, treasurer
Deborah Brashear, recording secretary
Lauren Lafleur, correspondence secretary
Jackie Hubbard
Janet Brandenburgh
Otholene Minton
Consuelo Torrez-Hall

Existing members:
Randy Thomas, chair
Pam Struve
Carolyne Rodgers
Sallie Spotanski
Misty Smethers
Shea Patterson
Charla Bradford

Heather Brandfellner, TCOM Class of ’09,
and Matthew Maruska, TCOM Class of ’10
… were selected to receive the Welch Scholars Grant for 2008 from the HUAmerican Osteopathic Foundation’sUH Board of Directors and the Committee on Educational Grants. The award is given annually by the AOF to medical students entering their 2nd, 3rd or 4th year at an American Osteopathic Association-approved school. Recipients are selected for their commitment to osteopathic medicine and their academic excellence.

Kyle Piwonka, TCOM Class of ’09
… was one of eight medical students in Texas to receive the 2008 Memorial Scholarship from the Texas Medical Liability Trust. The scholarships recognize Texas medical students who are interested in finding creative ways to enhance patient safety. UNTHSC logo


Submit notable achievements to

UNTHSC Logo Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 834 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699