September 19, 2008


Dr. Russell Gamber, professor of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine
… was awarded UNTHSC’s Clyde Gallehugh, DO, Memorial Award for 2008. The award is given annually in recognition of outstanding participation as a clinical science faculty member in the teaching of basic sciences.

Dr. Kristine Lykens, assistant professor of Health Management and Policy
…was elected vice chair of the UNTHSC Faculty Senate for a one-year term.

Dr. James Simpkins, chair and professor of Pharmacology and Neuroscience
… is the newest member of the American Aging Association (AGE) board.  AGE is a non-profit organization that promotes research in aging.

Dr. Simpkins’ research appears this month in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America (PNAS), a multidisciplinary scientific serial that publishes cutting-edge research reports.

Dr. Mark Sanders and
Dr. Roberto Carderelli
… were recently promoted to associate professors of Family and Community Medicine.

Dr. Jamboor Vishwanatha, dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
... and UNTHSC’s Historically Black Colleges and Universities Undergraduate Collaborative Summer Training Program in Prostate Cancer are featured in a U.S. Department of Defense magazine highlighting its prostate cancer program. The summer training program is one of many outreach programs offered by the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.

Dr. Lisa Hodge, assistant professor of Molecular Biology and Immunology and Osteopathic Heritage Foundation basic science research chair at the Osteopathic Research Center
… received the Established Researcher Award at the International Conference on Advances in Osteopathic Research in Bradenton, Fla. Dr. Hodge presented her research exploring the impact of osteopathic manipulation on the mobilization of lymphocytes and the possible role in health. This work was a result of collaboration with Dr. Fred Downey in the Department of Physiology, and Dr. Hollis King and Dr. Scott Stoll in the Osteopathic Research Center.

Dr. Ronald Blanck, former UNTHSC president, and
Dr. Kenneth Moritsugu, who holds an honorary DO degree from UNTHSC
… were appointed by U.S. Secretary of Defense Robert Gates to the Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences Board of Regents. Dr. Blanck will be the board’s chair. UNTHSC logo


Submit notable achievements to

UNTHSC Logo Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 834 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699