April 17, 2009

Carol Nati, MD, was appointed acting chair for the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health effective April 10.  Nati will assume the duties of chair while Alan Podowiltz, DO, serves as acting dean of the Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine.
The UNT Health Science Center took home three 2009 Council for the Advancement and Support of Education (CASE) Southwest District IV awards.  The awards were presented at the CASE Conference on April 6 in Oklahoma City.

  • Institutional Advancement won the Grand Award in stewardship for its donor stewardship program.  (Entered by Amy Baker, assistant development director for donor relations)
  • Institutional Advancement won the Achievement Award in Best Low-Cost Program for its 2008 Campus Pride Annual Giving Campaign, “Breaking New Ground – Can you dig it?” (Entered by Susan Smith, assistant director of annual giving)
  • The Office of the President won the Award of Excellence in Development Projects and Special Events for the 2008 Gala, “To Your Health - Unmasking Discoveries.” (Entered by Shea Patterson, administrator for special events)

Thomas Yorio, PhD, provost, recently chaired the American Osteopathic Association Commission on Osteopathic College Accreditation site visits to the Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine and Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine in New York.

He also was the keynote speaker at the Research Day at Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine in Nevada where he spoke on "Ocular Therapeutics: More than Meets the Eye."

Dr. Yorio also helped West Virginia College of Osteopathic Medicine’s administration and faculty in developing graduate programs for their institution and advancing their research efforts.

In addition, he recently was selected to be a part of the Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation's Lasker/IRRF Initiative for Innovation in Vision Science Workshop to be held at Woods Hole, Mass.  As part of the workshop, a small interdisciplinary group of scientists establishes core questions and identifies areas of investigation into neuro-degenerative diseases that affect the eye. 

Elisa Priest, doctoral student in Epidemiology, was named a SAS Student Ambassador for 2009 and won “Best Contributed Paper” in the statistics section at the SAS Global Forum 2009 in Washington, D.C.  Read more about it at the SAS Global Forum blog.

The President’s Invitational Tournament on April 7 at Ridglea Country Club grossed more than $70,000, which will be used to expand educational support for our students and scientists.
Thanks to all Health Science Center faculty and staff who volunteered at the tournament and served on the President’s Invitational Committee and our community volunteers Fred and Michelle Reynolds who chaired the committee.UNTHSC logo

Andy Axsom
Sam Buchanan, DO (TCOM ’75)
Dona Smith
Debbie Campbell
Barbara Kennedy
Denise Armstrong
Angie Owen
Shea Patterson Young
DeVetra Patrick
Krista Gordon
Sherry Burton
Michelle West
Diana Winton
Debbie Murray
Amy Baker
Mike Haynes

Committee Members:
Stephen Barrett, MBA
Amy Buresh
Blair Chappell
Randall Christopher
Tom Fairchild, PhD
Gary Grant, JD
Dan Hooper, RPH
Rand Horsman
Pam McFadden
Randy McGuffee
Keith Overstreet
Jen Pendell
Damon Schranz, DO (TCOM ’98)
Dennis Shingleton, MS, MBA
Lisa Smith
Susan Smith
Greg Upp
Sonja Carter, HUB Vendor
Janet Green, Community Volunteer

Submit notable achievements to news@hsc.unt.edu.

UNTHSC Logo Campus Connection
University of North Texas Health Science Center
3500 Camp Bowie Boulevard | EAD 834 | Fort Worth TX | 76107-2699