UNT Health Science Center logo

Posted: May 12, 2002


FORT WORTH, Texas—The top high school artists in North Texas competed recently in the annual 12-County High School Art Competition, sponsored by the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth and Asel Art Supply.

The first place winners in the different categories were:

  • Ceramics: Vasily Hall, Trinity High School
  • Printmaking: Cory Yarbrough, Trinity High School
  • Photography: David Reaves, Fort Worth Country Day School
  • Three-Dimensional: Sarah Pockrus, Northwest High School
  • Color Graphics: Michelle Wallin, LD Bell High School
  • Mixed Media: Jason French, Lake Dallas High School
  • Computer Design: Blake Gantz, Colleyville Heritage High School
  • Painting: Clara Moore, Trinity Valley School
  • Drawing (Black and White): Mark Romberg, Trinity Valley School

Jessica Tremblay, of Fort Worth Country Day School, received the prestigious Bill T. Everett Portfolio Award and the accompanying Grumbacher Medallion. As part of the award, she received $100 cash and $200 in art supplies. Scott Huot, from Bridges Accelerated Learning Academy, received $50 for placing second in the portfolio division.

Northwest Art Association selects three works each year to purchase and auction to their members. This year, the association chose works by Jimmy Thompson from Cleburne, Charles Suggs from Stephenville, and Scott Huot from Bridges Accelerated.

Art Educators of North Central Texas gave $150 scholarships to Joey Eckstein of Aledo and David Hernandez from Glen Rose for their work.

The artwork of Laura Garabedian of Weatherford High School, was selected for the 2003 competition cover design. Rachael Hockaday of Boswell High School, was named runner-up for the design.

High school students from throughout northwest Texas participated in the annual art competition. A total of 961 entries from 26 different schools were entered in the contest. Only 297 were accepted into the juried show.

“No other high school art competition in Texas offers more cash prizes, scholarships, and product awards,” said Judy Sager, who founded the competition and organizes the annual event.

Recognized as North Texas’ largest and most prestigious event for juniors and seniors, the competition awards cash prizes in each category, matched by gift certificates from Asel Art Supply.

Each year, representatives from art departments at major universities scout the show seeking prospective students. Annually, at least one or two students win full scholarships to continue their art education as a result of this competition.

Since 1985, high school juniors and seniors have displayed their works in painting, printmaking, mixed media, three-dimensional art, color drawing, black/white drawing, photography, computer art and ceramics. The competition is open to public and private school students in Brown, Comanche, Cook, Denton, Eastland, Erath, Hood, Johnson, Palo Pinto, Parker, Tarrant and Wise counties. The awards ceremony took place April 21 on the campus of UNT Health Science Center.

If you are with the media and need additional information or would like to arrange an interview,
please contact Jeff Carlton, Director of Media Relations, at 817-735-7630.


bottom frame