UNT Health Science Center logo

Posted: September 23, 2003



The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth recognized its top faculty at its Faculty Assembly Sept. 22.

The Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine honored three faculty members for their excellence in teaching. The medical students from the class of 2003 selected Sam Buchanan, DO, chair of surgery, as the Clinical Professor of the Year while the students in the class of 2005 selected Frederick Schaller, DO, associate professor of medicine, as the Pre-clinical Professor of the Year. Craig Spellman, PhD, DO, associate professor of internal medicine, received the Clyde Gallehugh Memorial Award for his work as a clinical science faculty member teaching basic science to medical students. This is the third time Dr. Spellman has received the award.

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences presented four faculty with awards recognizing their exemplary research. Ben Harris, PhD, professor of molecular biology and immunology, received the Benjamin L. Cohen, DO, Award for Outstanding Research Achievement. Meharvan “Sonny” Singh, PhD, associate professor of pharmacology and neuroscience, and Rustin Reeves, PhD, assistant professor of pathology and anatomy, were recognized with Research Rising Stars awards. These awards are presented to junior faculty members who exhibit outstanding efforts in research. Robert Wordinger, PhD, chair of cell biology and genetics, was named the Outstanding Graduate Faculty Member by the graduating GSBS students. As part of the award, he will present an overview of his research at a seminar Nov. 6.

The School of Public Health recognized three faculty members for their work in education, research and service. Daisha Cipher, PhD, assistant professor of biostatistics, was honored for her work in teaching biostatistics to a growing number of students. Kristine Lykens, PhD, assistant professor of health management and policy, was recognized for her work with the Texas Department of Health in conducting bioterrorism assessments in north Texas communities. Claudia Coggin, PhD, CHES, assistant professor of social and behavioral sciences, was recognized for coordinating the public health practice experience required of all students earning a master’s degree in public health.

“These faculty members excel in their work and serve as wonderful role models for our students,” said Ronald Blanck, DO, president of the health science center.


If you are with the media and need additional information or would like to arrange an interview,
please contact Jeff Carlton, Director of Media Relations, at 817-735-7630.


bottom frame