UNT Health Science Center logo

Posted: August 08, 2005


Patrick Hanford, DO, a Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine in 1983, was elected president of the Texas Medical Foundation board of trustees at its quarterly meeting on April 9. Dr. Hanford is the first osteopathic physician to hold the position.

The foundation is a private, nonprofit organization of licensed physicians, both MDs and DOs, whose purpose is to promote, develop, define and encourage the delivery of high quality, cost-effective medical care and health services. It serves as the medical peer review/quality improvement organization for Texas.

Dr. Hanford has served as a TMF physician consultant since 1987 and was a regional quality assurance committee member from 1994 to 1997. His has served on the TMF board of trustees since 1997 and has been its treasurer, secretary/treasurer, vice chair and vice president.

Dr. Hanford practices medicine at Salem Family Practice in Lubbock. He is a member of the Texas Osteopathic Medical Association board of trustees, a TOMA delegate to the American Osteopathic Association, chair of TOMA’s Professional Liability Insurance Committee, and vice chair of TOMA’s Membership, Services and Professional Development Committee. Dr. Hanford is also a former president of the Texas Society of the American College of Osteopathic Family Physicians.

Two other osteopathic physicians currently serve on the TMF board of trustees: Monte Troutman, DO, chair of internal medicine at TCOM; and Daniel Saylak, DO, TCOM 1983, current president of the TCOM Alumni Association, who is medical director of the Emergency Medical Department at Parkview Regional Medical Center in Mexia.


Contact: Kay Colley 817-735-2553, cell 817-980-5090, e-mail kacolley@hsc.unt.edu.

If you are with the media and need additional information or would like to arrange an interview,
please contact Jeff Carlton, Director of Media Relations, at 817-735-7630.


bottom frame