UNT Health Science Center logo

Posted: June 04, 2007

Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine recognizes award winners

The Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine at the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth recognized its top students recently at its annual awards banquet, held at the Fort Worth Club.

  This year’s Sigma Sigma Phi Outstanding Senior Award went to Marvin Moul.  Moul is president of his class and a Health Professions Scholarship recipient. The TCOM Alumni Association sponsored a $1,500 cash award for the Sigma Sigma Phi Award winner — a first for this award. After graduation, Moul will begin his residency at Brooke Army Medical Center in San Antonio. The Sigma Sigma Phi award is presented each year to the graduating senior that best exemplifies the ideals and values of the osteopathic profession.

  Matt Walton was selected by his fellow students to receive this year’s Arrowsmith Award. The award, currently funded by alumni who are previous recipients of the Arrowsmith Award, is given each year to a student who has overcome obstacles to earn his or her doctor of osteopathic medicine degree. Walton and his wife lost a child during his second year of medical school. Walton’s friend and classmate, Michael Stratton, presented the award.

  In addition to the student awards, the Speculum yearbook was dedicated to Drs. Stephen Putthoff, David Orr and Craig Spellman, who will be leaving the UNT Health Science Center faculty in the coming weeks.

  Other awards presented at the ceremony included:

  Christie Frederick - Donna Jones Moritsugu Award
Dr. Sam Buchanan - M.L. Coleman, D.O., Award for Clinical Faculty
Danielle Burkett - Academic Performance (Third in class)
Laponna Irvine-Moore - Academic Achievement (Second in class)
James Meek - Academic Excellence (First in class)
Krystal Batchelor - Leo Benavides Memorial Award
Laponna Irvine-Moore - President’s Award
Erol “Marty” Knott - Chancellor’s Award
Danielle Burkett - President's Scholar Award
Angela Edwards - President's Scholar Award
Laponna Irvine-Moore - President's Scholar Award
James Meeks - President's Scholar Award
Kelly Vopat Gilliland - President's Scholar Award
Amber Phillips Ervin - President's Scholar Award
Laponna Irvine-Moore - Robert G. Haman, D.O., Memorial Award
Sarah Meredith - Larry L. Bunnell, D.O., Award
Noelle Lee - T. Robert Sharp Award
Shane Taylor - Excellence in Emergency Medicine Clinical Rotation
Amanda Garcia - Excellence in Sports Medicine Clinical Rotation and Activity in Sports Medicine Club
Danielle Burkett - Excellence in Academic Ob/Gyn
Noelle Lee - Excellence in Clinical Ob/Gyn
Maneesh Kumar - Excellence in Pediatrics
Matt Thompson - Quest Labs Excellence in Pathology
Paul Schneider - Excellence in Psychiatry
James Meek - Excellence in Surgery

   Academic Achievement in the Rural Family Medicine Track was presented to Matthew Blackburn, Lieu Chau, Glena Davis, Melissa Downs, Didi Ebert, Elizabeth George, Matthew Jones, Jennifer Hendrix, Christine Lam, Damien Kinzler, Paula Lansford-Seabaugh,  Melissa Poole, Linda Sullivan, Gabriel Tarango and Matthew Walton. 


If you are with the media and need additional information or would like to arrange an interview,
please contact Jeff Carlton, Director of Media Relations, at 817-735-7630.


bottom frame