UNT Health Science Center logo

Posted: May 08, 2010

Commencement is May 15 at TCU

2009 grad photo.jpg

Camille Miller, president and CEO of the Texas Health Institute (THI), will speak at the UNT Health Science Center commencement ceremonies on May 15. 

The ceremonies will take place at 3 p.m. in Daniel-Meyer Coliseum at Texas Christian University. Tickets are not required for admission to the commencement ceremony, and there is no limit to the number of people a student may invite.

Commissioning ceremonies for students who will be joining the military will take place immediately following the commencement ceremony.

Miller has been the president and CEO of THI since its inception in 1996. After completing bachelor's and master's degrees in sociology and social work, Miller gained extensive experience in policy research and development while she served under two governors and two lieutenant governors, a state comptroller and state senator planning, researching and developing state policy to address health and human services issues. She also held executive staff positions at the Texas Department of Community Affairs and the Texas Department of Protective and Regulatory Services. As chief of staff for the Texas Senate Committee on Health and Human Services, she supervised legislative interim studies on medically fragile children, reorganization of health and human services and Medicaid.

Miller currently serves on the Board of Visitors at the Health Science Center and the Board of Directors of the Texas Public Health Museum, Communities in Action and the American College of Mental Health Administration. She also serves on the National Board of Communities Joined in Action, the National Rural Health Association Interest Group on Medicaid, the Advisory Councils of Baylor University's School of Social Work, Hankamer School of Business Healthcare Administration Program, Texas A&M Health Science Center's Masters of Healthcare Administration Professional Advisory Committee and The University of Texas School of Social Work Advisory Committee.

Navin Rauniyar, 2010 graduate, will be presented with the Chancellor's Award during commencement. As the recipient of that award, he will deliver remarks. Rauniyar is graduating from the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.

For more information about the commencement ceremony, visit the Web site at http://www.hsc.unt.edu/departments/registrar/CommencementInformation.htm or contact the registrar's office at 817-735-2201. Daniel-Meyer Coliseum is located at 2900 Stadium Drive in Fort Worth.

If you are with the media and need additional information or would like to arrange an interview,
please contact Jeff Carlton, Director of Media Relations, at 817-735-7630.


bottom frame